danaxcolour.blogg.se

Vuescan review 2018
Vuescan review 2018











vuescan review 2018

I grab a strip of negatives and start up Cyberview X5. Then comes the big moment, I deliver the electric spark to my new scanner and it awakens and starts rattling, clanking and purring… hmmmm, light, noisy… promising!

#Vuescan review 2018 software

Software installation is painless on my Mac (yeah, PC certainly the same, but there you go for a bit of stickling). Well, I guess that warranty is good for something! In fact, the Reflecta feels very plasticky and insubstantial, despite its robust looks. In fact, when I open it up and pull out the well-protected contraption I notice it’s light, very light! Especially compared to my Plustek. ‘Big box, but very light’ is my second thought. I checked the measurements before and noted that it’s a bit smaller that an A4 sheet of (photo-)paper, though somewhat thicker… The Reflecta comes in quite a big box for the dimensions of that scanner, that’s my first impression. Well, if it does not work out, Amazon has that great returns policy… Will the Reflecta’s build quality be up to its technical promises? Let’s see at least I hope it is, as I already sold my scanner to a pal. Furthermore, it’s very quiet in operation. Now, that Plustek scanner has a great build quality, seems sturdy and gives confidence in its future. If the results prove to be great, the better!

vuescan review 2018

Set up the scanner, feed it the film and go away for an hour or two. That’s a 365€ difference, a Euro a day for one year! Now if I can stick in a 6-frame strip of negatives or even a whole 36-frame film and the thing correctly recognizes (most of) the separate frames, I’ll be very happy.

vuescan review 2018

The Plustek goes for about 220€ here in Olde Europe while Amazon carries the Reflecta without the horrendously costly Silverfast software for 585€. So let’s also consider the prices of these scanners. If you consider that the Plustek Opticfilm 8100 or 8200 can coax ‘only’ 3800 dpi out of the negatives, and for that you have to dial in 7200 dpi – the decision seems obvious by the merit of resolution. Setting the scanner’s resolution to 10000 dpi will not get any increase in real resolution, only gargantuan file sizes! Thus 5000 dpi is the sweet spot for this scanner, offering a resolution that gets the maximum out of 35mm film. As it looks, the maximum resolution is about 4300 dpi which is still pretty great. Honestly, I never believed the boasted 10000 dpi resolution, which was confirmed to me by this review. I have been reading about the Reflecta scanners for some time now, ever since the 10M came out.

  • 7 Color scans with Silverfast and Vuescan.












  • Vuescan review 2018